Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of North Dakota's Watchdog Update

State Senator Dick Dever Opposing Pension Reform

Below is a raw transcript of Senator Dick Dever’s testimony in favor of the reforming and closing out North Dakota’s current Defined Benefit pension. This is a raw computer generated transcript, it has not been edited or corrected.

Speaker 1

Well Mr. Chairman for the record. I am Dick Dever Senator from District 32. And I am here ... to express my longstanding opposition to moving to define contributions. Not because it's about providing the best benefits or anything like that, but because it's fiscally a disaster, ... I'm gonna start by by mentioning my experience in the Legislature Only 2 to indicate that this all seems so complicated to so many people.

But I am here to offer hope because if this simple mind can wrap himself around it then others can too. So I was elected in 2000 to start. My first session was 2001. There was a bill and I served on government veterans Affairs in the Senate at that time. There was a bill to move to define contributions and we've had multiple bills throu…

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to North Dakota's Watchdog Update to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Legislative Bill Tracking
Want to keep track of what we are watching?
Authors
Dustin Gawrylow